Carolyn Gibson

The most important facet of membership in ARCIT is the respect and attention ARCIT has garnered for rural Texans, with the State Legislature and the state agencies in Austin. As a combined voice our members are heard in the same way as the Texas mega-cities.

Carolyn Gibson
El Campo CDC

Board of Directors

Carolyn Gibson, CDC of El Campo - ARCIT Board President

Carolyn is the Executive Director of the El Campo City Development Corporation. She is responsible for performing all duties related to the management of non-profit and Type B & A sales tax funded corporations. Her previous experience includes serving as the Executive Director of the Gonzales Economic Development Corporation, as well as the Bellville Economic Development Corporation & Bellville Chamber of Commerce. In addition to 14 years in Economic Development, Carolyn has over 20 years of experience in business management in the travel industry, real estate sales and property management, emergency medicine and nursing. Carolyn also serves on the H-GAC Local Development Corporation Board, H-GAC Gulf Coast Small Business Finance Corporation Board, Northside Education Center Board, El Campo Chamber of Commerce & Agriculture Board, and LCRA Ambassadors representing the Mid Basin.  Carolyn attended Lone Star College, Allen Military Academy, Bryan School of Vocation Nursing, Texas A&M University and Blinn College.

Denice Harlan, Giddings Chamber of Commerce

Denice has been with the Giddings Chamber of Commerce since February 2006 and has resided in Giddings, Texas since 1983. She serves as president of the New Horizons Lions Club, of which she has been a member for 30 years. Denice is also Treasurer for Lee County Youth Center, past-president of the Lee County Fair Association, and serves on the board of trustees at St. Mark’s Medical Center in La Grange, as well as the Giddings Economic Development Corporations Board as an advisor. She was raised in Houston, Texas and attended Galena Park High School. Denice is married and has two grown daughters.

Mark Meuth, Bastrop County Commissioner, Pct. 3

Mark is currently serving as Bastrop County Commissioner for Precinct 3. He was first elected to the position in November 2016.  He worked for Texas Department of Transportation for 29 years before retiring on October 2017. He was a transportation specialist and was involved in designing and maintaining roadway, bridge, maintenance and construction projects, developing budgets and analyzing data for cost analysis.

Marty Mangum, City Manager, City of Vernon - ARCIT Board Vice-President

Marty is currently serving as the City Manager of Vernon, Texas. Marty began his career in public service when he was elected to the City Council of the City of Littlefield where he served for four years. A short time later, he was appointed City Manager and served in that capacity for thirteen years. He also served as City Manager of Garden Ridge, Texas and Los Fresnos, Texas and Somerville, Texas, as well as owned and operated his own real estate business in Dal, Texas.

Lynda Pack, Executive Director, Jacksboro Economic Development Corporation

Lynda Pack is the Executive Director with the Jacksboro Economic Development Corporation, where she has been for the last eight years. Prior to that time, Lynda worked in Llano, San Saba, and San Angelo. In addition to serving as an ARCIT Board Member, she also serves on North Texas Workforce Development Board, Texas Forts Trail Board, Texas Heritage Trails Board, Lions Club, EDD Advisory Board with Nortex Region Planning, Jack County Extension Service Advisory Board, and Ladies of Faith Advisory Committee. Lynda attended Amarillo College, West Texas State University, Angelo State University, and Lone Star College.

The Honorable Byron Ryder, Leon County

Byron Ryder has been the County Judge of Leon County for 13+ years. Before being elected as county judge, he was the Mayor of Buffalo, Texas for 12 years. Judge Ryder is involved in the Brazos Valley Council of Governments (BVCOG) where he served as its chairman. He also served as the President of the National Association of Regional Councils (NARC), as well as various advisory committees that helped form policy in many areas.

The Honorable Keith Umphress, Jack County

Keith Umphress was elected Jack County Judge in November 2018. He took office January 1, 2019. Judge Umphress became an ARCIT Board member in February 2019.

Chris Whittaker, City Manager, City of Rockdale

Chris Whittaker is a 25 year veteran of the US Army serving several combat tours and over 14 years overseas in critical leadership positions. His final tours include Commander in 1st Cavalry Division in Iraq and on the Army Staff at the Pentagon. Upon his retirement, Chris was selected for his first city management at Rockdale. In addition to serving on the ARCIT Board, he serves on various TCMA, TML and Regional boards. Chris has a BA graduate in History of Virginia Military Institute and is a graduate of American Military University with a MA in Management. He has PMP and CPM education.